Violent Soho Drop New Song, Album Coming Next Month

Huge news, Violent Soho fans: the band will release their fourth studio album, WACO, on March 18.

Mansfield’s finest have also dropped a brand new song to celebrate, the pounding ‘Viceroy’, which you can stream above.

Violent Soho reunited with Hungry Ghost producer Bryce Moorhead for WACO, again recording at Brisbane’s The Shed studios.

Hungry Ghost – home to instant anthems ‘Covered in Chrome’, ‘Saramona Said’, ‘In the Aisle’ and more – peaked at #6 on the ARIA chart, racking up gold sales in the process.

WACO‘s title comes from the small Texas city that was the site of the Koresh-led Branch Davidian siege/massacre/shootout with the FBI in 1993. Soho frontman Luke Boerdam says WACO is like their previous album’s older sister: “Hungry Ghost dealt with the spiritual skeleton we’ve become from this spoon-fed reality. WACO is more about control and illusion: what the skeleton is being fed.”

WACO will also feature ‘Like Soda’, which came in at #15 on triple j’s Hottest 100 last week. Check out some hectic footage of the band tearing through it at Melbourne’s Corner Hotel below. You can also relive the madness of Soho’s set at the 2014 Groovin the Moo.

Catch Violent Soho touring Australia over the next two weeks as part of the Laneway Festival.

WACO is available for pre-order now.

WACO tracklisting:

  1. ‘How to Taste’
  2. ‘Blanket’
  3. ‘Viceroy’
  4. ‘So Sentimental’
  5. ‘Like Soda’
  6. ‘No Shade’
  7. ‘Slow Wave’
  8. ‘Evergreen’
  9. ‘Holy Cave’
  10. ‘Waco’
  11. ‘Low’

Hot tunes and news delivered weekly

Sign up to the Mushroom Newsletter

There's plenty more