3 February, 2016

The Drones Announce Album Tour

With their seventh studio album, Feelin Kinda Free, due March 18, The Drones have announced a run of capital city and regional shows to celebrate its release.

Judging by the two singles we’ve heard from it so far – the riotous ‘Taman Shud’ and gut-wrenching ballad ‘To Think That I Once Loved You’ – it’s shaping up as one of the records of the year.

Feelin Kinda Free was recorded in the summer of 2014/2015 at Tropical Fuck Storm Studios in Melbourne with Aaron Cupples and, according to a press release, “explores themes such as koro syndrome, the fruits of western imperialism, ISIS, celebrity chefs, seaside statecraft, beach-bum race riots, Rupert Murdoch, the new middle eastern/european diaspora, the spectre of neofascism, Hugo Boss, Luftwaffe psychological warfare techniques, girls, sweet revenge, capitalist consumer psychosis, body image dysmorphia/mania, Gertrude Bell, eating people and selling yourself, having great skin, leftist utopianism, scientific triumphalism, E.T. and the mindless assumption that alien lifeforms would be nicer than us simply because of their technological superiority”.

Can’t wait.

Tour dates

Fri 29 Apr
Adelaide
Gov 18+
Sat 30 Apr
Perth
Rosemount Hotel 18+
Fri 6 May
Brisbane
Triffid 18+
Sat 7 May
Byron Bay
Northern Hotel 18+
Thu 12 May
Wollongong
UniBar Wollongong 18+
Fri 13 May
Newcastle
Cambridge Hotel 18+
Sat 14 May
Sydney
Metro Theatre 18+
Fri 20 May
Melbourne
170 Russell 18+
Sat 21 May
Hobart
Brisbane Hotel 18+
Sat 28 May
Melbourne
Tote 12 - 25
Sat 28 May
Melbourne
Tote 18+