Sugar Mountain Announces 2016 Line-up

Melbourne music and art festival Sugar Mountain has announced its 2016 line-up, with Hot Chip, Courtney Barnett and Dirty Three headlining the January event.

They join the previously announced Le1F, who revealed his place on the bill last week via social media, and artists including NONOTAK, Daniel Askill and fuse*, who will be creating exclusive installations and art pieces.

Sugar Mountain returns to the Victorian College of the Arts and the Melbourne Arts Precinct on Saturday 23 January. While capacity will still be capped at 6,500, organisers are promising an “increased scope” at the site, with new spaces – such as the Melbourne Recital Centre – being used for the first time.

Another new initiative at SM’16 is the “immersive restaurant experience” Sensory, a next-level dining concept developed in collaboration with Bomba, Tin & Ed and Cut Copy.

First held in 2011, Sugar Mountain spent three years at the Forum Theatre before taking 2014 off and returning in an expanded form at VCA this year. Headlined by Nas performing his seminal album Illmatic in full, SM 2015 also featured performances by Kim Gordon and Bill Nace’s Body/Head, Swans, Ariel Pink, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and many more – check out a highlights video below.

Tickets go on sale midday local time Monday 19 October.


Hot Chip
Dirty Three
Courtney Barnett
Julio Bashmore
Royal Headache
Viet Cong
Empress Of
Tim Sweeney
Tom Trago
Kate Tempest
Roland Tings
Harvey Sutherland & Bermuda
Total Giovanni
City Calm Down
Sampa the Great
Kate Miller
Laila Sakini
Research & Development
Florian Kupfer

NONOTAK (Japan/France – world premiere)
Daniel Askill (Australian exclusive)
fuse* (Italy – Australian exclusive)
Nic Hamilton
Yahna Fookes x Martha Zakarya
Prue Stent x Honey Long x Clare Longley

Hot tunes and news delivered weekly

Sign up to the Mushroom Newsletter

There's plenty more