Garbage Reveal ‘Strange Little Birds’ Album Details

Today! Garbage (Shirley Manson, Steve Marker, Duke Erikson and Butch Vig) have announced Strange Little Birds, their sixth studio album, to be released on June 10 via the band’s own label STUNVOLUME (through Liberator Music in Australia).

The band recently shared the title via Twitter, and today released the tracklisting and artwork which was inspired by a variety of sources, from their recent fan letters back to the albums they loved growing up.

“The guiding principle was keeping it fresh, and relying on instinct both lyrically and musically”, said frontwoman Shirley Manson.  Strange Little Birds is “less fussed over” than anything Garbage has ever made. “We fell in love with immediacy,” adds Vig.

Working initially in Vig’s basement and then at Red Razor Sounds in Los Angeles, the album is produced by the band and follows their highly acclaimed Not Your Kind of People (2012).

Some might hear echoes from Garbage’s 1995 debut album in Strange Little Birds — including Manson herself.
“To me, this record, funnily enough, has the most to do with the first record, rather than any of the previous records,” she says.
“It’s getting back to that beginner’s headspace. In part, that’s a result of not having anyone to answer to.”


Strange Little Birds tracklist

  1. Sometimes
  2. Empty
  3. Blackout
  4. If I Lost You
  5. Night Drive Loneliness
  6. Even Though Our Love Is Doomed
  7. Magnetized
  8. We Never Tell
  9. So We Can Stay Alive
  10. Teaching Little Fingers To Play
  11. Amends

Hot tunes and news delivered weekly

Sign up to the Mushroom Newsletter

There's plenty more