25 September, 2017

Midnight Oil Announce Intimate Great Barrier Reef Benefit Gig

Just a week out from launching their homecoming leg of their Great Circle 2017 World Tour in Alice Springs – Midnight Oil have announced they will play an intimate benefit gig in Cairns at the Tanks Arts Centre on Friday, 6 October.

‘Oils At The Reef’ will help promote awareness to protect The Great Barrier Reef and to support reef activism and research.

“The Great Barrier Reef is one of the world’s most beautiful and intricate ecosystems”, said Oils drummer Rob Hirst. “It’s also a magnet for tourists, and a major contributor to the local economy so the fact that it’s under threat from climate change and unsustainable development should concern all Australians. We believe we should support the work of scientists and listen to them when it comes to what we should do to protect this precious environment.”

“Midnight Oil have always used our music to talk about things we believe are important”, says band frontman Peter Garrett. “We believe the future of the Great Barrier Reef is clearly on the line. We’re at the eleventh hour for our most important natural asset. As the largest living organism in our world the reef is a treasure of extraordinary beauty itself but it’s also a symbol of greater questions we all have to answer. Some parts of the Reef are already being killed off by catastrophic climate change and other parts would be damaged by bad federal government policy that prioritises short term corporate profit above all else. So we’re looking forward to getting together with our friends in Cairns and all doing our bit to share some information, provoke more conversation and make change while there’s still time.”

The iconic rock group has spent the last six months playing more than 50 gigs in 16 countries across six continents. They have played nearly 100 different songs including at least half a dozen that they have never performed onstage before.

 

A very limited number of tickets will go on sale Wednesday, September 27 at 10am via http://frntr.co/MidnightOilREEF. In the meantime, we’re also running an exclusive giveaway for your chance to catch The Oils in a city near you! Suss the details here.

Tour dates

Mon 2 Oct
Alice Springs
ANZAC Oval
Wed 4 Oct
Darwin
Darwin Amphitheatre
Sat 7 Oct
Cairns
Kuranda Amphitheatre
Tue 10 Oct
Townsville
Townsville Entertainment Centre
Thu 12 Oct
Rockhampton
Great Western Hotel
Sat 14 Oct
Sunshine Coast
Big Pineapple Fields
Sun 15 Oct
Brisbane
Riverstage
Tue 17 Oct
Brisbane
Riverstage
Sat 21 Oct
Sydney
Hope Estate
Tue 24 Oct
Canberra
AIS Arena
Thu 26 Oct
Adelaide
Village Green Adelaide Oval
Sat 28 Oct
Perth
Perth Arena
Wed 1 Nov
Hobart
Derwent Entertainment Centre
Fri 3 Nov
Wodonga
Gateway Lakes
Sat 4 Nov
Macedon
Hanging Rock
Mon 6 Nov
Melbourne
Sidney Myer Music Bowl
Wed 8 Nov
Melbourne
Sidney Myer Music Bowl
Sat 11 Nov
Sydney
Domain
Mon 13 Nov
Wollongong
WIN Entertainment Centre
Wed 15 Nov
Melbourne
Sidney Myer Music Bowl AA
Fri 17 Nov
Sydney
The Domain