King Gizzard Announce New Acoustic Album

Another day, another King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard album: the super-prolific Melbourne seven-piece have just revealed details of their seventh album in three years.

Titled Paper Mâché Dream Balloon, the 12-track acoustic collection will be released on November 13.

Posting on the band’s website, frontman Stu Mackenzie explains: “After mind fuzz and quarters i was starting to get over concept records. I wanted to make an album with a collection of short unrelated songs. I wanted to steer away from electric guitar music which i felt like we’d explored pretty heavily on the last couple.

“So paper-mache-dream-balloon, the concept-less concept album got a concept. No electric instruments. Just acoustic guitars, flute, double bass, fiddle, harmonica, drum kit, clarinet. what ever we could find really. we recorded it mostly in an empty shipping container on my parents farm in country victoria. it was all horses, emus and tim tams.”

A deluxe tri-colour vinyl version – complete with 40-page tab and lyric booklet – limited to 1000 copies is available for pre-order now.

King Gizzard

The Paper Mâché Dream Balloon tracklisting:

1. ‘Sense’
2. ‘Bone’
3. ‘Dirt’
4. ‘Paper Mâché Dream Balloon’
5. ‘Trapdoor’
6. ‘Cold Cadaver’
7. ‘The Bitter Boogie’
8. ‘N.G.R.I (Bloodstain)’
9. ‘Time = Fate’
10. ‘Time = $$$’
11. ‘Most of What I Like’
12. ‘Paper Mâché’

Hot tunes and news delivered weekly

Sign up to the Mushroom Newsletter

There's plenty more