17 June, 2015

Chet Faker To Play Largest Ever Australian Venues

Chet Faker has announced a final East Coast tour for 2015, playing his largest Australian tour venues to date.

Featuring an “expanded band with guests, never before performed live songs and a few surprises along the way”, Faker will play Melbourne’s Sidney Myer Music Bowl on Friday 30 October, Brisbane’s Riverstage on Saturday 31 October and the Sydney Opera House Forecourt on Friday 6 November.

The all-ages tour will be the last live celebration of Faker’s multi-platinum, chart-topping Built on Glass album, following a completely sold-out 13-date run earlier this year (which included two shows at Sydney’s Hordern Pavilion and five at Melbourne’s Palais Theatre).

“I’ve played over 200 shows since the album came out, and during that time the songs and the show itself has evolved so much further beyond the recordings,” Faker says. “This tour is a last chance to put everything I’ve learned over the last few years into practice and see the songs played in their full capacity before I put the album to rest.”

The announcement coincides with the premiere of ‘Bend’, a previously unreleased song written during the Built on Glass recording period, ‘Bend’, on triple j this morning.

“’Bend’ was on Built on Glass until the last minute,” Faker explains. “I recorded it in 2013 and kinda wanted to put it out since. It’s always felt like a part of Built on Glass and since this tour is the sort of live ‘director’s cut’ of the album it made sense to release this before it lost context.”

Frontier Members pre-sale runs from midday AEST on Monday 22 June to midday AEST Tuesday 23 June – you can join it here. General public tickets go on sale midday local time on Thursday 25 June.

Tour dates

Fri 30 Oct
Melbourne
Sidney Myer Music Bowl AA
Sat 31 Oct
Brisbane
Riverstage AA
Fri 6 Nov
Sydney
Sydney Opera House Forecourt AA
Sat 7 Nov
Sydney
Sydney Opera House AA