The Best Aussie Songwriters Were Celebrated This Week

Each year, the prestigious APRA Music Awards celebrate a handful of legendary Aussie songwriters by creating a select few categories and crowning the best of the elite. A big congrats to the 2017 winners who include;

Castlemaine prodigy D.D Dumbo (Oliver Perry), who took home the award for Song of the Year for his intricately layered and pure brass track ‘Satan‘, which you can experience when he tours nationally this June.

Aussie spiritual leader, Archie Roach, was honoured with the 2017 Ted Albert Award For Outstanding Services To Australian Music and the irrepressible, Vance Joy, was presented the Most Played Australian Work Overseas award for ‘Riptide’.

Other winners include Troye Sivan for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, Birds of Tokyo winning Rock Work of the Year for ‘I’d Go With You Anywhere’ and Illy ft. Vera Blue taking home Urban Work of the Year for ‘Papercuts’. 

It’s a huge achievement for all winners and nominees and Mushroom Music Publishing! Suss the full list of winners here.

Below is the supergorup of the night featuring Dan Sultan, A.B. Original + Paul Kelly covering the legendary Archie Roach ‘Took the Children Away’ followed by ‘Dumb Things’ – ripping.

Hot tunes and news delivered weekly

Sign up to the Mushroom Newsletter

There's plenty more